The perfect scenario for learning more about the saint
The Casa de los Pisa is located very close to Plaza Nueva, at the entrance to the Albaicín, and was constructed by the Pisa family immediately after the conquest of the city by the Catholic Monarchs. On 8 March 1550, Saint John of God died in this house, where he had been staying, an event that would mark the history of the home as, following the disappearance of the Pisa family, the Hospitaller Order of Saint John of God purchased the building.
The museum displays valuable pieces in a number of exhibition halls and galleries, ranging from Moorish tiles dating back to the 14th century, to elaborate works such as San Juan Evangelista and La Dolorosa by Diego de Mora, or several Flemish panels, including the marvellous triptych by Joos van Cleve, which dates back to the 14th century. In addition, the building boasts a charming courtyard and a small chapel.
Photos by Javier Sánchez